Senators

here are thirteen Student Senators representing the undergraduate student body on the University-level, including on the McGill University Senate, which is the governing body of the University in charge of academic matters. Each Senator was elected by their respective constituents (usually the undergraduate students in a specific faculty) for a one-year term. Senators also sit on various committees of Senate and the University. To learn more about the Senate and undergraduate representation at the university level, please click in the following link .

To send an email to all Senators, direct your message to senators@ssmu.mcgill.ca. Note that since the SSMU President and VP University Affairs are also senators, emails sent to this address will also reach them. For individual Senator’s emails, please refer to the list below.

All thirteen Senators convene every Monday at 6:30 PM in the SSMU Office for the weekly Senate Caucus meeting, where they strategize and discuss the state of their various advocacy efforts, meetings, and personal/working group projects. These meetings are open to the public: any student can come, either just to observe or to bring up a topic that concerns student life in general to the attention of Senators. Before coming, please notify the University Affairs Secretary General by sending an email to uasecgen@ssmu.mcgill.ca.

The Board of Governors


The President of the SSMU occupies the sole undergraduate seat on the McGill University Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is the highest governing body of the University, and unlike Senate, it is more focused on issues that are relevant to McGill as a corporation. Board members (called “Fellows”) must sit on a committee of the Board. This year, the President sits on CAMSR (Committee to Advise on Matters of Social Responsibility).

University Committees


More detailed aspects of the McGill Senate’s work take place in various committees of Senate and other University-level committees. To see a list of all committees with undergraduate representation, please click here.

 

Senators
Image Constituency Name Email Address
  Arts Senator Isabella Anderson artssenator1@ssmu.ca
  Arts Senator Michael Nwabufo artssenator2@ssmu.ca
Arts and Science Senator Jed Lenetsky artsscisenator@ssmu.ca
Education Senator TBD  educationsenator@ssmu.ca
Engineering Senator Richard (Tre) Mansdoerfer engineeringsenator@ssmu.ca
  Law Senator Fatima Anjum lawsenator@ssmu.ca
  Management Senator Amir Fawzy managementsenator@ssmu.ca
  Medicine Senator Muhammad (Ahmer) Wali medicinesenator@ssmu.ca
  Music Senator Michael Duke musicsenator@ssmu.ca
  Nursing Senator Nahal Fansia nursingsenator@ssmu.ca
  Science Senator Salma Youssef  sciencesenator1@ssmu.ca

 

 

 Staff

VP University Affairs Isabelle Oke ua@ssmu.mcgill.ca
University Affairs Secretary General Caitlin Mehrotra uasecgen@ssmu.ca